Buying R9 270x

edited December 2013 in Hardware support

The price on 280x has gone up to around $400 USD (700kHash), would it be smarter to buying two 270x for $400 ($200x2)? They should provide 450-500kHash each.

1 x 280x = $400 (700kHash)
2 x 270x = $400 (1000kHash)

Comments

• IMHO no. Im very new to this, but I think you are well better off opting for the 280x.
    Im not sure where you buy your cards from, but I can get 280x's well below $400

• What are your plans for the future? Getting 2xgpu now might limit your expandability later on, or it might be good - you could sell one of the 270s once it's paid itself off and replace with a 290.

• the thing to look at here is how many watts 2 r9 270s use vs a single r9 280x.

my 280s draw somewhere between 200 and 250 watts each.  I think the 270s draw 180-200 each (going from what I saw on the hw comparison).

so yes, you'll be hashing more with the 270s (will the 270s really do 500? I thought the hw comparo list was in the mid 400s, but either way...)  but you'll also be using almost twice as much watts to accomplish the same task.

if you have free energy, by all means get whatever you can get your hands on.  otherwise, factor in the electricity costs into your determination if it is worth it or not

• anyone can help me to configure my cgminner on Gigabyte  r9 270x im newbi.. pls!

• I need some help too...

• edited December 2013

Hi guys, welcome to mining, please see the "Miner Configs" section of the forum, or on your dashboard click on Support > FAQ for assistance.

After you get your drivers, the SDK (if needed), and any tweaking utilities installed you'll need a LTC wallet and a mining program (cgminer).  Get a quasi-config going, and if it's behaving strange or giving you specific errors we can help you out.

FWIW, saying you need help but not providing any information leaves us with nothing to help you with. 8-)